My first cooking adventure – Orange Chicken!

A few weeks ago I realized that I can really only cook three meals, and one of those is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I decided that it was finally time to learn to cook real meals instead of living off of peanut butter and lean cuisines. I started my search for recipes on my favorite website…PINTEREST! One recipe that caught my eye was Skinny Orange Chicken.

Before I looked at the recipe I thought it would be very complicated to make and take a lot of different ingredients. I was happy to find out it really simple and I already had most of the ingredients.

STP63382

After gathering all the ingredients the next steps were very simple. I cut up the chicken into 1 inch squares and mixed all the ingredients in a bowls. Next, I cooked the chicken in a pan and poured the orange chicken sauce over it.

STP63384

At first I thought I had completely messed up the recipe because the sauce looked like soup. However, after a few moments the sauce thickened and it began to look like something you’d order at a 5-star restaurant!

I poured the orange chicken over rice and sat down to test out my first cooking adventure. The only thing I might change is cutting down on the amount of orange juice the recipe calls for, the orange-y taste was a little overpowering on a few bites. Overall, I really enjoyed it and think my first cooking adventure was a success!

photo

Leave a Reply

